A 5K Series That You Can’t Refuse

Growing up in Anderson, I was always active with soccer, basketball and running. So I had no problem always being in shape.

I could decide to run a 5k at the drop of a hat, and there would be no issue. Usually, if the race offered it, I’d do the one-mile “fun run” as a warm-up for the 5k.

Then I went to college. And all I did to keep active was intramural sports.

Then I turned 30. And all I did to keep active was to walk from Point A to Point B, or maybe spend a few minutes on the elliptical my wife had made…er…asked us to buy.

At the 2012 Turkey Trot, I made it a goal to get back in shape. I started going to YMCA the next week and have been a regular there ever since (presently, Stephanie kicks my butt twice a week in her Chisel class on Mondays and Wednesdays).

While I made my ‘resolution’ in late November, did you make a New Year’s Resolution to get in shape? Well, it’s the end of the first month – have you kept it this long?

If so – or heck, even if not – then take the litmus test this weekend in the Westside Christian Academy Resolution Race 5K.

The race is the first of six in the inaugural Sumter Road Race Series, which celebratesSumter-Series physical fitness, the City of Sumter, and the Sumter running community. The series is an event that emphasizes health and community throughout the year – beginning with the first race this weekend and continuing through the last race on Thanksgiving Day.

Registering for the Sumter Road Race Series gets you signed up for all six races – WCA Resolution Race 5k, the Young Professionals of Sumter and City of Sumter’s Recovery Road Race (5K/10K), the Tuomey Foundation 5-miler, the Sumter County Library’s Forrest Ray 5K, the Sumter Sunrise Rotary 5K and the YMCA’s Turkey Trot. Participants in the series receive the standard race day-issued t-shirts at each run, along with a separate Sumter Series t-shirt.

The fee is only $100, which divided by six races is less than $17 each – a much lower rate than signing up for each race individually. Did I mention the extra T-shirt? Vito Corleone couldn’t even make this offer!

So, join me and the other runners at 9:30 a.m. on Saturday, February 2, 2013, at 554 Pinewood Road, Sumter, SC to begin the Sumter Road Race Series!

by Patrick Enzor

This entry was posted in Sumter SC Tourism, Sumter, South Carolina, Visit Sumter SC and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

