2013’s Classic Countdown of 1983

I’m a planner by nature. So before I moved to Sumter, I started searching for community events and activities to participate in upon my arrival. However, one of the coolest activities I discovered was after I relocated. One Friday evening while perusing historic downtown, I stumbled upon the Sumter Opera House, located at 21 N. Main Street. 

2013-Movie-PosterDid my ears deceive me? I could hear cartoons. My first impression… I’d gone crazy. Then the thought passed that someone had the TV up too loud. However, as I pressed ahead, the sounds became louder. What I found were open doors and the razor sharp witticisms of Bugs Bunny and friends darting into the street. My interest was, of course, hooked and I was graciously invited in by two smiling patrons.

Ultimately what I stumbled upon was not only some of my favorite childhood cartoons, but an entire line-up of classic movies, all held on the second Friday of each month. The movie series, shown in Sumter’s oldest movie theatre, is a partnership with the Sumter County Library, so all door proceeds help out with the library’s children’s programs.

The price is awesome for an evening of entertainment, with a cost of $2.50 per person for admission. Movies start at 7 pm, and cartoons begin at 6:30 pm. Refreshments (popcorn and water) are also available for an additional cost ($1 each).

The 2013 movie season is no different; in fact, this year they are celebrating 1983. AllReturn-of-the-Jedi-Poster movies are family-friendly and rated PG or below. With box office releases like Curse of the Pink Panther, Jaws III, Lone Wolf McQuade, Mr. Mom, Never Say Never Again, Return of the Jedi, Smokey and the Bandit III, Superman III, Terms of Endearment, The Outsiders, WarGames and yes, everyone’s love-it-or-hate-it holiday classic A Christmas Story, this year is bound to be hit.

The new season kicks off Friday, January 11, 2013 with Star Wars Episode VI: Return of the Jedi. Originally released in May of 1983, this “space opera” was the third film to be released in the Star Wars saga, and the sixth in terms of internal chronology.

So, join Jabba’s court of weirdos, a desert monster pit, some funky forest creatures, and me at the Sumter Opera House to celebrate the 30th anniversary of some of the 80’s biggest blockbusters. Let the 1983 Downtown Friday Nights Classic Movie Series countdown begin!

by Shelley Kile

 

This entry was posted in Sumter, South Carolina, Visit Sumter SC and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

