“Conjunction Junction, what’s your function?”

The lobby of the Sumter Opera House seems an unlikely place for a spontaneous outbreak of nostalgia, but it has been known to happen.  I recently helped with an orientation for some new residents, and the panel included representatives from a variety of local businesses and organizations.  Afterward, one of these individuals, who shall remain nameless, was talking about helping her daughter with fifth-grade homework, and somehow this led to a discussion of “Schoolhouse Rock” and all the things we’d learned while watching Saturday-morning cartoons back in the days before there was a Cartoon Network.  I’m still not sure how it happened, but she and I burst into choruses of “Conjunction Junction,” “I’m Just a Bill” and a few others, and talked happily about our favorites from the series.

I wish I could way that we sang beautifully and dozens cheered, but there really was some quite visible cringing going on.  I can draw a picture, build a cabinet, or do any of a number of things with my hands, but I cannot sing (at least not in a normal key; however, my Nico imitation cannot be beat).  That did not stop me from humming the Preamble of the U.S. Constitution for the rest of the day.

The obvious question is, “What does this babbling have to do with anything?”  Good question, and I’ve got a good answer!  “Schoolhouse Rock” is coming to the Sumter Opera House this weekend, October 3 at 3 p.m.  Presented by the Columbia Children’s Theatre, this show should be a real treat for jaded Gen X’ers who want to relive a part of their youth, and it’s a great way to introduce it to a new generation.  There’s more info online at http://www.mtishows.com/show_detail.asp?showid=000171.  Tickets can be purchased TODAY  for $8 each at the Swan Lake Visitors Center until 5 p.m., and at the door on the day of the show.  The only thing missing will be the FrankenBerry cereal!

And no one had better dare look at me funny as I go about my day humming, “Lolly, lolly, lolly, get your adverbs here…”

Hope to see you there!

This entry was posted in Sumter, South Carolina and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

